US Military Service

Senior BBE Contributor

Mood:
Trade Feedback: 4 reviews
iTrader Rating: (4)
Submit Trade Feedback
fufu's eBay Home Page Buy me a Soda?
HS bowling update

A few weeks back, I posted a topic about starting to coach HS bowling. I wanted to offer an update.

We have 24 kids, which is quite the turnout. That said, out of the 24, about 8 are bowlers or were bowlers before joining our team. Most are complete novice bowlers, without their own ball or shoes. This was not what I was expecting. Sure, I expected a few to be near beginners, but not the vast majority. Many of them don't bowl junior leagues. I'm basically starting from scratch.

We have 4-5 "coaches" total and we have two hours of practice a week. Most sessions we only have two coaches at practice so do the math....real coaching is just not feasible. Most of my suggestions are just an attempt to put the kids into the a serviceable enough position to hit the pins and offer some tips on trying to cover spares.

We had our first match this past weekend, in all honesty, I'd give us a grade of B. During our matches, I generally work with the novice bowlers and we performed better than I expected. In our practice, shooting a game over 100 is more the outlier not the norm. But, in our match we managed a few over 100.

My only real frustration is the other coaches. Sure, we have a few kids that just there to be there, have no real desire on improving, just hanging out. Really, I'm okay with that...as long as they are honest. But, many of the coaches have no formal training, are not accomplished players and contradict what I and some of the other coaches are trying to accomplish. I find it very draining.

Re: HS bowling update
Old 10-25-2017, 01:51 PM

BBE Authorized Retailer

BBE Forum Moderator
Senior BBE Contributor

Trade Feedback: 18 reviews
iTrader Rating: (18)
Submit Trade Feedback

Quote:
Originally Posted by fufu View Post