Go Back   BBE BowlingBallExchange > Misc Bowling Forums > Ball Drilling & Dynamics
Wicked Hook and Devastating Carry!
Always on? 

Bill Hall Tri-Grip
Old 04-04-2013, 01:32 AM
F.O.S
Senior BBE Contributor

Trade Feedback: 32 reviews
iTrader Rating: (32)
Submit Trade Feedback
dougb's eBay Home Page dougb's facebook Page Buy me a Soda?
Bill Hall Tri-Grip

Well I'm about a month into trying Bill Hall's new Tri-Grip fitting system and I can say decisively this is the best thing I've done for my game in a long time.

I've been bowling for about 5-6 years now. I was originally fitted by a decent pro shop and later switched to a new shop who didn't check my fit but did switch me to a Collier Grip, which I really liked. I had periodic release issues with my ball hanging up on my thumb some times and going over the top. He looked at the calluses on my thumb and changed my thumb pitch, which worked well. But occasionally my thumb still hung up and my shot was killed.

I switched to another shop and was completely refitted using the "Wikifit" system, including the Morich fitting tubes. My span was shortened and my pitches changed and I saw an immediate 15 pin bump in my game. I had never noticed the shoulder pain I had or how much I was muscling the ball. But still I felt like my thumb wasn't always getting a clean release.

Finally, about a month or two later Bill Hall came to that shop and he laid out a Brunswick Ringer for me using the measurements from the WikiFit. At first I had a hard time completely relaxing my hand, wrist, and arm, because this ball literally fit like a glove. All of my release issues were gone as the ball came cleanly off my thumb at the bottom of the swing, shot after shot. I am an up-the-back-of-the-ball bowler with a lot of forward roll and Bill increased my axis rotation, effortlessly giving me angles to the pocket I had to force before.